URGENT ACTION SB 6288

SB 6288- Creating the Washington office of firearm violence prevention

Feb 28 Scheduled for executive session in the House Committee on Civil Rights & Judiciary at 8:00 AM (Subject to change).  This bill passed the Senate and is now in the House

In 2018 the Washington State Chiefs and Sheriff’s Association, along with mental health professionals and school personnel, conducted a study on mass shootings in this state. Out of the many recommendations made, NOT ONE recommendation was for additional gun control- Our esteemed Attorney General was livid that the study did not include additional gun control.
This bill for the formation of a committee for the Office of Firearms Violence Prevention- has many issues. First it is the AG’s attempt to get done what he couldn’t get done with the mass shooting study.
This bill will allow groups like MDA and Alliance for Gun Responsibility, to file for grants, using tax payer monies, to produce a report for Bob Ferguson saying how bad gun violence is…
Community-based organizations; and (b)Public agencies or departments that are primarily dedicated to community safety or firearm violence prevention. The office shall form a grant selection advisory committee including, without limitation, persons who have been impacted by violence, formerly incarcerated persons, and persons with direct experience in implementing evidence-based violence reduction initiatives, including initiatives that incorporate public health and community-based approaches.
Here is the email addresses for committee members:

Christine.Kilduff@leg.wa.govMyLinh.Thai@leg.wa.govMorgan.Irwin@leg.wa.govJeremie.Dufault@leg.wa.gov; Roger.Goodman@leg.wa.govJenny.Graham@leg.wa.gov; Jenny.Graham@leg.wa.gov; Drew.Hansen@leg.wa.gov; Steve.Kirby@leg.wa.gov; Brad.Klippert@leg.wa.gov; Tina.Orwall@leg.wa.govStrom.Peterson@leg.wa.gov; Skyler.Rude@leg.wa.gov; Javier.Valdez@leg.wa.govAmy.Walen@leg.wa.gov; Alex.Ybarra@leg.wa.gov

Comment on the bill here- app.leg.wa.gov/pbc/bill/6288

 

Please follow and like us:

1 Comment

  1. Garrett

    I am a law abiding, tax paying, registered voter, and your constituent. I strongly oppose any bills and laws that impede on my constitutional second amendment rights! I support Article I, Section 24 of the Washington State Constitution! These bills and laws that are being proposed will do absolutely nothing to stop people intent on breaking the law! Look at how the war on drugs has worked to eliminate drug use, and the crimes people commit to obtain, manufacture, and sell. If the proposed (anti article I, section 24, anti second amendment) bills are passed, it will make law abiding citizens into felons with the stroke of a pen! If that happens, then you have just made it impossible for thousands of people to vote! If you are serious about reducing crime, then uphold the laws currently on the books! Go after drug dealers, go after gangs, and shut them down permanently!

    Thank you for your time and consideration

    Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email